Frank Robinson
1934 - 2019
Share
Share Frank's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Frank Robinson was Major League Baseball's first black manager. That groundbreaking distinction came after a notable playing career, beginning in 1956 with the Cincinnati Reds. He was Rookie of the Year and went on to play for the Reds until 1965. Traded to the Baltimore Orioles, he excelled for six seasons, including two World Series wins and a World Series MVP Award in 1966. In 1975, Robinson became manager of the Cleveland Indians, breaking the color barrier. He went on to manage the San Francisco Giants, the Orioles, and the Montreal Expos/Washington Nationals.

We invite you to share condolences for Frank Robinson in our Guest Book. For full obituary and coverage from Legacy.com, click here.
Published in Boulder City Review on Feb. 7, 2019.
MEMORIES & CONDOLENCES
Not sure what to say?
50 entries
March 29, 2020
As the family continue to grieve may God continue to be with the family and grant you peace and comfort.
Steele
January 9, 2020
January 9, 2020

Dear Family, Friends, and Neighbors of Mr. Frank Robinson:

I will continue to pray for all of you, during this very difficult time. Frank was a good man, and a great baseball player. My brothers, Steven, and Kevin played Baseball in College. I graduated from Wendell Phillips High School, and Columbia College. I even received a certificate from Goodwill Industries in the year of 1995. Frank will truly be missed by all those people who looked up to him as their role model. You should all be very proud of him. He did leave a great legacy.

I am a 43 year Member of Sixth Grace Presbyterian Church, located at 600 East 35th Street, Chicago, Illinois 60616. Reverend Dr. David B. Thornton is The Pastor, The Moderator of The Session, and The Head of The Staff. He just celebrated his "5th" Year Anniversary as The Pastor of Sixth Grace Presbyterian Church on November 24, 2019. He is doing great work. He is also My Mentor, Teacher, and Spiritual Advisor. Reverend Donald B. Register is The Pastor Emeritus.

I am also a Proud Former Member of Church Musician Ship Guild, Inc. (1988-2008), which was founded in the year of 1984 by The late Dr. Mildred G. Lewis, who was The Founder, and Executive Director. I was their Administrative Assistant, Executive Secretary, and Public Relations Director. I have been doing "Public Relations" for about 32 years now. I now live in Cincinnati, Ohio with my soon to be 89 years old mother Louise, and my younger brother, Kevin. I use to reside in Chicago, Illinois. I had two dogs, Mopsie a girl shih Tzu now deceased, and a boy Lil' man cocker spaniel/poodle. I hope that he is alive and well. I miss him very much. WITH MY DEEPEST SYMPATHY, MS. VALINDA DARLENE JONES.
VALINDA JONES
November 27, 2019
I watched him play baseball when I was a kid.
April 23, 2019
Thank you Mr Frank Robinson for all your baseball greatness # 20 was my child hood hero when he played for the Baltimore Orioles.. You,,Brooks, , Booge,, Jim Palmer class acts whom none will ever duplicate,, , RIP, , Champ, ,, say hello to Johnny Unitas
Ray Carrow
Friend
April 11, 2019
He was a childhood hero of mine in Baltimore, along with teammate Brooks (Robinson) and Football's (Colts) Johnny Unitas and Basketball's (Bullets) Wes Unseld. RIP Big Frank!
Leroy Bright
April 4, 2019
You were always one of my favorite icons in baseball , but even more you were a friend. I will miss you stopping by my booth at Fenway.

Your friend,
Al Green
Red Sox H.O.F.

Sorry for your loss Robinson family, he will live forever in our hearts and minds. Thanks for sharing him with fans and friends in baseball over the years.
Al Green
April 1, 2019
Thanks Mr. Robinson for the cap you gave me in Florida in 1969 I still have it and I'll still keep it in my safe. R.I.P
Bill Petrie
Acquaintance
March 31, 2019
What great memories of him crowding the plate and winning the Triple Crown in two leagues the only man to do it I believe Reston peas Frank
Nick Magrone
March 16, 2019
RIP Frank
Vada Pinson III
March 6, 2019
He was my childhood baseball hero. Some liked Mays or Aaron or Mantle, but I was always a fan of F.Robby. I was proud of the way he played the game ferociously, but even more impressed by his leadership and the trails he blazed. As I grew older, read his biographies and understood the context of the times in which he lived, I realize his impact goes far beyond baseball. A great ballplayer to be sure, but also a great American. My prayers for comfort to his family, friends and all who love him.
Jeff Fletcher
March 2, 2019
In my estimation Frank Robinson arriving through trade to Baltimore in 1966 was the first African-American Super-star in the American League.
Robby put the Orioles on his back especially after winning the American League MVP and the Triple Crown.
Because of his greatness as a player and his leadership as a Cleveland, Giants, Orioles, Expos and Nationals manager Frank Robinson was a hero to me and so many others.
I met Mr. Robinson in the Winter of 1977 during a regional Warner-Elektra-Atlantic Music business convention in Cleveland. Mr. Robinson embodied the personification of a baseball executive, Black-pride, terrific, wisdom, intellect, style and class. He is missed on the scene of greatness, leadership, and management skill.
May God Almighty bless the Robinson and MLB Family during this difficult time.
Rest in heavenly peace,
Michael "Tiger" Price, Detroit, Michigan
Michael K. "Tiger" Price
February 21, 2019
Frank Robinson was a great player, but also a "man's man". His fearlessness while at bad was indicative of his personality while confronting the racism in baseball while he played and long after he retired. He didn't get the full national baseball recognition he deserved-like Henry Aaron, Willie Mays, Sandy Koufax, Jackie Robinson or even Roberto Clemente, but he's getting it now. He also deserves a special place in this country's civil rights history.
Jeff Pryor
Friend
February 21, 2019
Mr. Robinson was my hero when he played with the Reds.
Terry Lawler
Friend
February 20, 2019
Watched this man get "brushed back" on 2 consecutive pitches. Then--he hit a Home Run. Great Sunday afternoon at Memorial Stadium. Thanks Frank, RIP my Bro
Clarence Curry
February 20, 2019
Valenda Newell
February 19, 2019
I would like to say when I was a kid I was one of Frank's biggest fans he filled my childhood with joy and good memories, coming up in Baltimore and being a Orioles fan...my heart goes out to his family and may he REST in peace
Leroy Johnson
Friend
February 19, 2019
We send our sincere condolences to the family. Our prayers are with you during these grief stricken times. May Gods blessings assist you during this time. It was an honor to work under Mr. Robinson. He was truly a pioneer and made Many notable contributions to our world.

Charles Spikes & family
L. Charles Spikes
Coworker
February 18, 2019
We would like to say what we said to him on his last day coaching the Washington Nationals on September 30, 2006, "Thanks, Frank!" We were sitting in the Diamond Club section of RFK, two sections over from the Nats dugout. During the standing ovation, Frank was scanning the crowd, and looked at our sign, and pointed to us, giving us a thumbs up! The local paper, the Free Lance Star (Fredericksburg, VA), mentioned our sign in the story written about that day. Proud Nats Fan Family Moment!
Jill Bernstein
February 18, 2019
Frank Robinson was one of my favorite Orioles along with Brooks, Boog and Paul Blair. He will be deeply missed but his will to win will forever be etched in my memory. RIP Mr. Robinson. You deserve your eternal rest. Peace! Alan Gould.
Alan Gould
Friend
February 17, 2019
As the days and weeks pass, and as you return to life's routine, may you continue to feel comforted by the love and support of family , Friends and God .
Elliott Shaw
Family
February 17, 2019
Sympathy and prayer to family.
Cora Wilson
Friend
February 17, 2019
My condolence goes out to the Frank Robison Family MLB has loss one of it's greatest players. I remember seeing Frank play during my childhood in the sixties when the Reds came to Milwaukee County Stadium to play the Braves. Even though Hank Aaron was my Hero, Frank Robinson was in the same class as Mays and Aaron as Baseball's greatest hitters. We will miss you Frank and your contribution to Major League Baseball God Bless You.
Philip Sims
February 17, 2019
Frank was one of my childhood heroes in the 60s. I'm over 60 now and he's still my hero.
Steven Gordon
February 16, 2019
Please accept my deepest sympathy during this difficult time. Allow the God of comfort to comfort and know, He cares for you. 1 Peter 5:6,7
Angela M
February 15, 2019
I was a 5 year old kid in 1956 and my Dad took me to Crosley field for my birthday. I talked about #20 all the way home, and never quit. I begged my Mom to let me stay home from school the day he was traded, but she told me Robby would want me to go.(It worked.) I saw him play in many different uniforms, and manage in Cleveland. He truly was my hero. One of the happiest days of my life was seeing him inducted into the HOF in 1982.When I read his books, it made me realize how much he and his family went through being a black athlete, especially early in his career. Thank you, Mr. Robinson, for giving me such an honorable man to emulate. You will always be missed. RIP.
Karen Jerbic
February 14, 2019
Frank was one of my childhood heroes. My buddies and I used to wait around after the games at Memorial Stadium in Baltimore just to get his autograph. He was always gracious, well dressed and classy as hell. I pray peace to his family and all who loved him.
Larry Jennings
February 14, 2019
Rip Frank fond memories
Ron Teat
February 14, 2019
Longtime Fan RIP
Deborah Robinson-Scott
Grandparent
February 14, 2019
My condolence to the family of Mr. Robinson may his contribution to society bring comfort
and trail blazers should be remembered for taking the lead! Rev.1:18
B. Littlejohn
February 14, 2019
Please accept my deep expressions of sympathy. May the loving memories you've shared continue to warm your heart. Psalms 116:15
February 13, 2019
May the Lord comfort the family of Mr. Robinson during this time of sorrow. I was fortunate to meet him at Coors Field in 2005 when he managed the Nationals team. A gentleman and a true class act and one of the greatest baseball players ever. Thank you Frank.......
Ron Quintelier
Acquaintance
February 13, 2019
Perry Archibald
Friend
February 13, 2019
The Shepperson Family Atlanta Georgia
February 13, 2019
I met Frank when he was honing his executive skills in the Arizona Fall League in the late '90s. I found Frank to be a warm and gracious man. He never allowed his incredible baseball accomplishments get in the way of personal friendships. Rest in peace, my friend; rest in peace.
Jim McGrath
Friend
February 13, 2019
Robert Williams
February 13, 2019
To the family of Frank Robinson,
May the God of all comfort help you during this time of sorrow.
L Johnson
February 13, 2019
May God bless you and your family in this time of sorrow.
February 12, 2019
Rest In Peace Frank. Your legacy will NEVER be forgotten.
Tonya Robinson
February 12, 2019
The Great Frank Robinson thanks, for your God given talent and your contribution to professional Baseball.
Your dedication and your endurances, withstood the test of time.May God bless your soul, extended condolences to family. Friends, fans and MLBB.


Artis Ac Hudson Sr
Georgia 31204
February 12, 2019
Very sad I've know frank since 1969 with the Orioles my name is Anthony McNair my deepest sympathy from me and Lamar Odom was with Frank and his wife n daughter at the Lakers first 2 pre season games laughing in the chairmans room he was always great to me I'm gonna miss you my brother RIP Ms Robinson here is my contact 424 220 0864 see you @ the pearlie gates
February 12, 2019
Eternal rest grant unto Frank, O Lord. And let perpetual light shine upon him. May his soul and all the souls of the faithful departed rest in peace. Amen
February 12, 2019
What a storied career, his many achievements mark a lifetime of success. It's with great sadness for family and friends, that I hope they can find comfort in their good memories. My most sincere condolences.
February 12, 2019
Thank you Frank, for the memories brought to me as a child growing up during the 60's/70's, while as a member of the Baltimore Orioles. Everyone speaks of Cal Ripken, which is fine, but Frank, you CHANGED THE FACE OF ORIOLES BASEBALL. Most every Black Boy growing up playing the game of baseball in Baltimore, would say he was Frank Robinson, stepping up to the plate to bat.
Levey Williams
Friend
February 12, 2019
My prayers and condolences for the loss of your loved one. Death is never easy regardless of one's age and Psalms 90:10 shows how he lived a long life of special mightiness from God. So keep the many, many, many memories of your loved one close in your hearts and minds and cherish them forever. May the comfort of God be with you all during this time of grief.
Betty Armour
February 12, 2019
Baseball genius
Grant Messer
February 11, 2019
I am sorry for your loss. My condolences to family and friends. May the God of comfort give you strength during this difficult time. 2Thessalonians 3:16
February 11, 2019
Mr Robinson was a class act. I had the privilege of meeting him at a card show several years ago and found him warm and friendly. I admired him for playing days, his managerial and executive skills. He will be truly missed by all of his fans. God bless him and I hope that he will repose in peaceful rest.
John Wierzbicki
February 11, 2019
I reach out to the Robinson family on the passing of your beloved Frank Robinson He was a true icon in baseball in the civil rights movement and in many lives beyond. I met Frank while he was the manager for the Baltimore Orioles they were not very good but he did not show it for I know that given his competitive nature it had to eat at him. I introduced myself and addressed him as "Mr. Robinson" he quickly said to me no I am not Mr. Robinson call me Frank or Skip. That spoke volumes of the kind of person he was. He truly one of the great competitors to have ever played the game to be mentioned in the same sentence for GOAT with the likes of Babe Ruth, Willie Mays Ted Williams Joe DiMaggio and Hank Aaron. You see, while there were other players that may have been better than Frank in all five star categories, Frank was in the top 2 or 3 in all five categories, while others may have more speed, a better arm etc., they would not be in the top 10 in the remaining star categories. Before he was a manager with the Cleveland Indians he, as a player in the off season went to Puerto Rico and The Dominican Republic to manage teams in the winter leagues to sharpen his managerial skills to be better prepared for the moment in history. How many superstars in the MLB can you say they were a top 10 in the greatest players of all time then turned out to be a good manager after their playing career? Not many if any. To the Robinson family wife and daughter, the Baltimore Oriole Nation and MLB thoughts and prayers go to you God be with you and God be with Frank RIP.
John Lambert
Acquaintance
February 11, 2019
Our thoughts and prayers are with you in your time of grief. May your memories bring you comfort.
February 11, 2019
Your legacy will continue for years to come.
Stephanie Schell
INVITE OTHERS TO ADD MEMORIES
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences